Our Team is made up of specialists from across emergency and trauma care. Each member sits on several committees, all striving for the ultimate goal of Healthier Children, and a Better World.

Management Team

Dr. Suzanne Beno

Medical Co-Director

Profile →
suzanne.beno@sickkids.ca

Dorothy McDowall

Trauma Patient Care Coordinator

dorothy.mcdowall@sickkids.ca

Dr. Elaine Ng

Anesthesia Staff Representative

elaine.ng@sickkids.ca

Dr. Mark Camp

Orthopaedics Staff Representative

mark.camp@sickkids.ca 

Margaret Kreller

Trauma Data Analyst

margaret.kreller@sickkids.ca 

Dr. Paul Wales

Medical Co-Director

Profile →
paul.wales@sickkids.ca

Dr. Gail Annich

Critical Care Staff Representative

gail.annich@sickkids.ca

Dr. Cenzig Karsli

Anesthesia Staff Representative

cenzig.karsli@sickkids.ca

Dr. Joel Fish

Burns Staff Representative

joel.fish@sickkids.ca

 

Linette Margallo

Trauma Clinical Director

linette.margallo@sickkids.ca

Dr. Peter Dirks

Neurosurgery Staff Representative

peter.dirks@sickkids.ca

Dr. Jeffrey Traubici

Diagnostic Imaging Staff Representative

jeffrey.traubici@sickkids.ca

Mary Chen

Critical Care Senior Clinical Manager

mary.chen@sickkids.ca

Click on the specialities below to learn more about what we do and the services we provide.
Fellow or Resident (Doctor)
The Hospital for Sick Children is a teaching hospital and you may meet doctors at various stages of their training.

These are experienced doctors who have come to The Hospital for Sick Children to specialize in a certain area of medicine and to advance their skills. They monitor your child on a daily basis and provide a plan of care under the supervision of the staff doctor.

Registered Nurse
A nurse will be responsible for caring for your child in the Emergency Department, Critical Care Unit, and the Trauma Unit. Nursing care:

  • Provides physical care at your child’s bedside
  • Works with the health-care team and you to make a plan of care for your child
  • Teaches you about the special care your child may need
  • Helps you access support and/or services you may need
  • Provides a link between you and the health care team.
Staff Physician (Doctor)
The Hospital for Sick Children is a teaching hospital and you may meet doctors at various stages of their training.

A staff physician works for The Hospital for Sick Children and is responsible for the medical care of your child while in the hospital. This doctor is a “specialist” who has had extra training and a lot of experience in the area of your child’s injury. Other specialists may be consulted if your child has more than one health need. You may meet many doctors while your child is in the hospital but the staff doctor that your child is admitted under is responsible for his or her medical care.

Interdisciplinary Team

Jennifer Bassin

Art Therapist

jennifer.bassin@sickkids.ca

Veronika Langos

Dietitian

veronika.langos@sickkids.ca

Nicky Brookes

Occupational Therapist

nicky.brooks@sickkids.ca

Renee Haldenby

Physiotherapist

renee.haldenby@sickkids.ca

Harjinder Prasher

Transitional Care Coordinator

harjinder.prasher@sickkids.ca

Erin Boyle

Childlife Specialist

erin.boyle@sickkids.ca

Antonietta Desideri

Music Therapist

antonietta.desideri@sickkids.ca

Lauren Weinstock

Physiotherapist

lauren.weinstock@sickkids.ca

Norah Shaunghnessy

Social Worker

norah.shaunghnessy@sickkids.ca

Stacey Segal

Dietitian

stacey.segal@sickkids.ca

Erin Fraser

Occupational Therapist

erin.fraser@sickkids.ca

Margaret Duvnjak

Physiotherapist

margaret.duvnjak@sickkids.ca

Madelaine Ingles

Speech Language Therapist

madelaine.ingles@sickkids.ca

Click on the specialities below to learn more about what we do and the services we provide.
Chaplain
Our chaplain is available to provide spiritual and emotional care to patients and families at any time of the day or night.  They can also counsel and support you and your family, offer prayers, and give sacraments.
Child Life Therapist
A child life therapists supports the psychosocial well-being of children and adolescents during their time in the hospital.  They provide recreational activities to promote your child’s adjustment to the hospital, and promote optimum development, normal living patterns and minimizes the negative impact of illness and hospitalization for children and families.

We offer a range of therapeutic play based activities to build supportive relationships, helps patients gain mastery over their environments, cope with pain and painful procedures, and learn about hospital procedures.

Dietitian
Dietitians help decide what kind of food and liquids your child needs, and checks the amount your child is eating and his or her weight to make sure your child is getting the best food that will help him or her heal.
Neuropsychologist
A neuropsychologist is specially trained to look at the effects of a brain injury on your child’s memory, attention, problem solving, ability to make sense of information, and ability to behave the right way in different situations.  They can suggest how your child, you, and your child’s teachers can deal with the effects of your child’s brain injury.
Occupational Therapist
An occupational therapist assesses children to determine if they are having difficulty with doing everyday tasks after an injury. As a child recovers from injury, the occupational therapist will assess and provide therapeutic intervention to help with:

  • self-care skills (for example: eating and swallowing, dressing, washing)
  • play skills (for example: playing with toys or a game, moving to get a toy, playing with friends)
  • school skills (for example: attention and memory skills, problem solving, printing, writing).
Physiotherapist
A physiotherapist helps children with movement problems after an injury. Physiotherapy services, including assessment, treatment and education, are available to children and families in the Trauma Program. The aim of physiotherapy is to help children to be strong, healthy and able to move well after an injury. The physiotherapist will see children who need help to:

  • Use a part of their body (for example: breathing exercises or to strengthen muscles)
  • Perform an activity (for example: to throw a ball or walk up the stairs)
  • Return to their community (for example: walk with crutches at school or move around at home).
Social Worker
Social work services are available to all patients and their families who are admitted to the SickKids Trauma Program. The social worker can assist you in any of the following areas:

  • Supporting you and your child during periods of crisis and throughout hospitalization.
  • Linking you to available hospital and community resources.
  • Advocating for you in hospital and in the community.
  • Offering individual counselling for your child.
  • Offering counselling for parents, couples and families.
Speech Therapist
A speech-language pathologist provides consultation, assessment, education and treatment to infants, children and their families regarding speech, language and overall communication skills. Injuries may have an impact on a wide range of functions necessary for effective communication. These functions may include:

  • Oral motor functioning (coordination of speech muscles for talking),
  • Language comprehension and production (ability to understand or express ideas)
  • Reading and writing
  • Thinking skills (memory, problem solving and reasoning)
  • Social interaction skills.
Transitional Care Coordinator
A transitional care coordinator (TCC) promotes a seamless transition of patients and their family from SickKids to their community.  TCC’s facilitate the flow of medically complex children across the continuum from admission to discharge, and fosters effective communication with patients, families, caregivers, service providers and community agencies to ensure continuity, quality of care and optimal support and services.
Trauma Data Analyst
A data analyst:

  • Extracts data from various internal and external sources for entry into the hospital Trauma Registry.
  • Calculates injury severity scores and codes charts for the Canadian Institute for Health Information and the Ontario Trauma Registry for reporting to the Ministry of Health.
  • Fulfills requests for statistics and research related to injury.
Trauma Patient Care Coordinator
This coordinater is responsible for communication between the health-care team and patients/families involved in trauma.  They are often the contact person for trauma patients and families during hospitalization and after discharge, and are involved in the Trauma Programs’ development, including Quality Management activities.

Please contact our Trauma Patient Care Co-ordinator, Dorothy McDowall, at dorothy.mcdowall@sickkids.ca for any other questions regarding our Trauma Program